#BeQuotable…Day 15…Quote to Live By…@PatRothfuss…#KingkillerChronicles

Image
The Wise Man's Fear, Patrick Rothfuss

The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss

“It’s the questions we can’t answer that teach us the most. They teach us how to think. If you give a man an answer, all he gains is a little fact. But give him a question and he’ll look for his own answers.”
Patrick Rothfuss, The Wise Man’s Fear

This is the kind of quote that did not change my thinking but, rather, validated it. I was born with a defect….the kind of defect that lives in the brain and dictates behavior. It is the kind of defect that horrified my teachers, pastors and parents. I was born without the ability to simply accept anything as truth…to take the world at face value. Sure, ignorance is easier…more comfortable but I can’t live life that way. I don’t believe anything that I haven’t discovered myself. As a result, I find myself always taking the hard road; finding things out the hardest ways; and living the most honest life that I know. I am not without faith…but my faith is one of my own making. I am not without knowledge…but the knowledge I possess I have searched and worked to gain. I am stubborn, unmovable, and relentless at times but I am secure, curious, and strong. So, this is the code of my existence….to be continually asking questions…to always search for answers….and to live a life based on my own truth.

Leave a Reply

