Cailleach the Diviner Character Sketch…Blog Hop For Writers

Standard

blog-hop-for-writers

Character Sketch of my Hero

Cailleach isn’t the MC of Darkness Within but he is very central to the story (he’s also my favorite character). He is Awen’s spirit guide and protector and his back story intertwines with her story in ways not yet revealed so I thought he would be the perfect subject for this week’s Blog Hop for Writer’s post. The exercise is to do a character sketch of my hero so, here it goes! When you’re done, hop on over to Ruth L. Snyder’s blog and check out her character sketch.

Appearance

Cailleach (Cai) is a formless being. In fact, he’s an extension of the divine and so there are times when he appears in the story as nothing more than a shadow in the corner of a room or (as Awen describes), the whisper of the wind. We see him, most often, in the Shadow Realm where he takes the form of a dark owl with silver tufts of fur and bright, purple eyes. Awen compares his physical appearance to the glow of the moon and describes him as appearing to be of both darkness and light.

Origin

I cannot tell you who I am, for I have been known by many names. I cannot tell you an age because human years cannot equate to my antiquity. I can say that, within the scope of human understanding, I have always existed. In one form or another, I have walked the shores of the human realm for ages. I have lived and died by the sides of man. I have felt human love and hate; hopelessness and triumph; joy and sorrow. I understand what it means to be human. I even empathize with them but I am not human. –Cailleach

Cailleach has existed from the beginning of earthly time. He was created to act as an agent of fate for the divine. He exists as a being who was created to fold into the fabric of human experience without actually being human. He travels throughout the ages, weaving in and out of human lives and helping guide them toward their individual destinies. All this is so that the overall balance of the world is maintained and humans continue to progress.

Back Story

Through his role as a diviner, Cailleach came to stand in awe of humanity as he watched them evolve. His attachment to humanity eventually became a weakness for him and throughout a turn of events, he became responsible for the beginning of the Dark Ages. He had broken every law of his kind and so he was exiled to the Shadow Realm where he found light in the darkness and became the protector of wanderers in the forest. His isolation and tenacity made him the perfect candidate to be Awen’s protector. His past is both a strength and a weakness for him. Protecting Awen will be his redemption with is a great motivator but as she grows, he becomes very attached to her and he finds himself feeling like history is repeating itself.

***I’m super sad because this post was supposed to be scheduled for Monday but due to technical issues, it didn’t post when it was supposed to. Better late than never, right? I hope it still counts.

4 thoughts on “Cailleach the Diviner Character Sketch…Blog Hop For Writers

  1. Intriguing and well-thought-out… and you’ve done a great job of making an entity like this have characteristics we can still relate to… that fear of messing up again, of needing to redeem ourselves.

Leave a Reply

