Snowpocalypse 2014 is Coming!!!! #Louisiana

Standard

Now, I’ve lived through a lot of snowstorms in my life time but none as severe and life threatening as the one that is upon Southern Louisiana at this very moment. A state of emergency has been issued, curfew instated, schools and roads are closing down and it hasn’t even begun yet. Walmart closely resembled that of 1999 when people were preparing for Y2K. Like my fellow Louisianans, I flocked to the computer to see what the accumulation was going to be. What I got was the following:

Another Round of Winter Weather!
*Winter Storm Watch has been issued for the entire WAFB viewing area from Tuesday morning through late Tuesday night.*

We’re starting off on this Monday with “mild” January weather throughout the area – light/moderate rainfall this morning on Titan 9 Doppler radar. Currently, temperatures are in the 50s and that will likely be rather consistent for a “high” today. However, due to the passage of a very strong cold front, temperatures will drop dramatically … and it looks as if THIS time, the wintry weather will also include accumulations of snow/freezing rain/sleet. Temperatures will not make it above freezing Tuesday … meaning we will have issues on area roadways again … possibly lasting through early Thursday morning! Overall, accumulation totals remains very uncertain, but could be wind up in the range of an inch of snow; sleet, freezing rain up to a quarter/third of an inch. Finally, temperatures will push into the 50s Thursday/only falling into the lower 40s Friday morning … then a rapid warm up occurs as we move into the weekend!! – Diane Deaton, WAFB Storm Team

I know if I was reading this, I wouldn’t have read all that so allow me to recap…Southern Louisiana is expecting up to 1 inch of snow and up to 1 quarter/third of an inch of ice. What???? Maybe I read that incorrectly. Hold for a minute while I re-read……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Nope, I was correct. The entirety of Southern Louisiana has been brought to a halt under the threat of 1 inch of snow and a quarter to a third inch of ice. Remember, these are the people who survived Hurricane Katrina. There’s really not much else I can say at this point…I…just…can’t…  I suppose that if you don’t hear from me for a day or two it’s because I’m without power (which I really can’t fathom) and I’m toughing it out in the Antarctic like conditions of Snowpocalypse 2014
snowmememom
Leave a Reply

