Week 1: Beginnings

Standard

Soundtrack Sunday 3

Welcome to the Soundtrack Sunday Blog Challenge

This week is all about beginnings. Using music, describe where or what you came from. It can be a song from the year you were born, a song that reminds you of your hometown, your parents, or your heritage. You can make this post about new beginnings or beginnings not yet to come…whatever come to mind when you think about your own beginnings.

Write: Write a post that explains your connection with the song to the prompt. WHY does this song signify beginning for you?

Don’t forget to schedule your post for Sunday and tag it with Soundtrack Sunday.

Tips:

 Don’t worry too much about choosing the “right” song; just choose a song that you really connect with…after all, it’s your life and your soundtrack…have fun with it!

If you don’t want to explain your connection with the song, don’t. The writing isn’t a requirement, it’s a suggestion. In the end, it’s up to you whether you want to really elaborate on it or not.

Don’t forget to create a pingback to this post (by posting a link to it in your blog) and return to post your own link in the comments so we can all read your post.

You can check out my response by clicking on the My Sunday Soundtrack link in the menu or by following the permalink here (wont be visible until Sunday):

Feel free to use any of the buttons on this post in your own post or on your blog.

Soundtrack Sunday Soundtrack Sunday 3 Soundtrack Sunday 2

10 thoughts on “Week 1: Beginnings

  1. Ashley, I LOVE this blog challenge!!!
    I was struggling to connect with one of the listed blog events which I was directed to by the zero to hero challenge (day 22) but your Soundtrack Sunday Challenge is right up my street! And I’m especially excited to be joining in at the very beginning – to follow where it goes and become privy to the soundtracks of other people’s lives. Now I just have to find the instructions for embedding music videos in posts. And figure out how to pop one of your buttons on my blog… 🙂 x

    • I’m really glad you’re excited about it, as well. I think it’s going to be really fun to see how people respond to the prompt from week to week. I thought it was a contest that could really bring a lot of different people together. We all listen to music and many of us associate music with specific memories in our lives so anybody can do this challenge.

      Here is a link to the wordpress support page about inserting videos into a blog post: http://en.support.wordpress.com/videos/youtube/

      As far as using the buttons, you should be able to save them to your computer and then upload them into the post by clicking on the “add media” button on the post. You can then run your mouse over the picture in the post and click on the little “picture” icon to chance the size and settings for the buttons. There might be an easier way to do it but that’s the only way I know. I hope it helps you out. 😀

      • Thank you. I used the Image widget for the button. (I don’t know why I assumed I wouldn’t be able to use it more than once.) Click on your button in my sidebar and see where it takes you. Guess. You’ll never guess! 😉

      • Awesome! Thanks for linking it back…that will help people find it so they can join in! It looks great on your page! I think the cassette one is my favorite. 😀

  2. Cool idea for a challenge, Ashley. Are you leaving these open for responses after Sunday or is the idea that once the week’s over, we have to go to the current theme?

Leave a Reply

