4 Questions for Aspiring Authors, Part 2…From Jodie Llewenllyn’s blog.

Standard

Questions for Aspiring Authors Part 2: From Jodie Llewenllyn’s blog. 

  1. What are your grand ambitions as a writer?
  2. Is there a character you tend to write about?
  3. How do you really know you have talent or if you’re just wasting your time?
  4. What is your least favorite thing about writing?
  5. If you could escape into a book like literally go INSIDE that book, which one would you choose?

My answers:

1. What are your grand ambitions as a writer?

My biggest ambition is to have others read my material. I know it’s not as exciting as dreaming of the “big deal” or the “boost in sales”. It’s not that I’m under ambitious…I just want to know people are reading what I’m writing. It doesn’t matter to me if it’s 20 or 20,0000…as long as I touch a few lives, I’ll be happy with that.

If I had to set some kind of grand goal that I hope to reach in the future, it would be simply being able to live off my writing. If I could stay home and write all day and still pay the bills, I would feel like I have hit the literary jackpot!

2. Is there a character you tend to write about?

I tend to write about the broken pieces of our society; the people on the fringe. My characters tend to have tragic backstories or something about them that makes them abnormal. I don’t know how easy it would be for me to write about average, everyday people. In some way, my characters are always broken (sometimes, they’re a little twisted, too).

3. How do you really know if you have talent or if you’re just wasting your time?

I’ve never really questioned my talent. I know there are things that I have yet to learn about writing and so I write to learn them. I think the only way for a writer to be sure of their talent is to read the work of others. In doing this, I can be sure that I am as good as some of the writers out there today. I also know that there are a lot of writers out there better than me. I will, eventually, get to their level. As for possessing natural talent, this is something I have always been sure of…no number or lack of sales will ever take that away from me.

I would never be able to say that anytime I have dedicated to writing is “wasting my time”. Whether or not people buy my books…whether or not people read my blog…whether or not I’m actually good or not is irrelevant to the fact that writing is what I was born to do. When I’m writing, I’m alive. When I’m writing, I’m looking at the world in the exact manner which helps me to make sense of it…which helps me grow. When I’m writing, I’m me. So, even if my words are never heard, I can never consider the time I spent writing them as a “waste of time”.

4. What is your least favorite thing about writing?

The time I spend not writing. That is, the time I spend on Facebook or Twitter, scrolling through an endless sea of updates and funny pictures, instead of writing. The time I spend checking my email or googling obscure diseases just to beat the boredom. I hate these times because if I’m doing these things, it’s because I’m suffering from mild cases of writer’s block. It means there is something inside my brain that is blocking the words from flowing throughout my body and out my fingertips.

5. If you could escape into a book like literally go INSIDE that book, which one would you choose?

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss…I love the world Rothfuss has created here. I want to live at the University and study naming. I want to be Edema Ruh…I want a prince of the Fae as a student…I want, I want, I want to live in this world where magick is always on the fringe of things, yet it remains hidden…within everything that exists….within every name.

You can read the original post here: http://jodiellewellyn.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/questions-for-aspiring-authors-part-two/

Leave a Reply

