Who is Indie Ashley? A story of Independence…#FreeThought

Standard

I just updated my about page. I think this better sums up “who” I am and what my mission for my blog is so I wanted to post it as well… đŸ˜€

“Independent Author…Independent Thinker….Independent Believer….Independent Parent…and a celebrator of Independence in general!”

When I was a child, I told stories to my imaginary friends. As I grew, my plots thickened and my imaginary friends faded into characters. This is how I became upon a writer. It wasn’t until I gave birth to my children, gave up working and moved from east coast to the south (and back again a few times), that it occurred to me that I could be more than a writer…that I could be an author…a published author. So, I wrote a novel and set out trying to figure out how to get published.

Buried in webpages for literary agents and publishers; my head swirling around how I was going to write a synopsis and query letter, I wondered how long I would have to wait or if my dream of becoming a published author would ever come true. By the time I came across information about self-publishing, my head was aching and I was beginning to feel a familiar ache of anxiety about the whole “author” business.

I’m not good with strict institutions or following rules when it comes to my art. I’m not good with allowing someone else to monitor my thoughts…I’m not good with waiting or rejection. I’m not good with allowing someone else to set my prices and take out their “share” from my work.

So, I became an Independent author. Shortly after, I became single again. Ending my marriage, which had become more overbearing and full of discourse, than a marriage should be, gave me another taste of independence that I had been craving.

The one thing I have always been sure of about myself is my independence. I am an independent thinker. I never subscribed to the “popular” schools of thought prevalent in the small town where I grew up. I have always stepped back, rationalized and made up my own mind about things. This is how I came to travel an “independent” faith path (Druidry). This is how I have learned all that I know about philosophy, psychology, sociology; ect without a college degree…because I’m an independent studier.

So, the title “Indie Ashley” sums all this up. While this blog is mostly about my journey (and that of others) into the world of independent publishing, it is more easily classified as a celebration of independence in general. I want this to be a divergence for all the other “indies” out there…a place where independent thought, belief, and art can be expressed.

Leave a Reply

