#KDP Select…Is it Worth the Exclusivity?

Standard

Right now, my book is available on Google Play, Amazon, Barnes and Nobel, Createspace and Lulu. Sales are minimal to none on all channels, except Amazon (they’re not so great there, either). I know my book has been on sale for less than a week but my inner self is kind of freaking out about it. It’s every author’s worst nightmare that nobody will read their work and so I’m trying to figure out a way to make my book more visible and get it into more hands. 

Part of the problem was my  publish date. Although I had set it up as a pre-release and didn’t want it released until the 31st, it went live on Amazon on the 24th of December. I suppose everybody wanted to get in on the holiday buzz and so there were thousands of books published between the 24th and 26th. The result is 400 pages of new releases…my book is buried in there somewhere but it’s obvious that nobody is seeing it. 

One method for uncovering your book is to do a time based promotion. I love this idea. Amazon features these books on a separate page and its a good way to increase traffic and get the book in the hands of readers (thus getting reviews). However, the only way to take part in this promotion is through KDP Select. I don’t know anyone who has experience with this program so I’m leaning on my group of fellow indie writers for advice (once again). 

The rules of the program are this: by enrolling in KDP Select, I get the benefit of time based promotions and am promised (supposedly) better visibility and greater sales, overall. The book also becomes part of the lending library. So, Amazon Prime members can check my book out of the library and read it for free (hopefully leaving reviews). For these transactions, the author is promised some financial kickback (although its not clear how much). Like I said, for me its not really about the money; just knowing that my book is getting read is exciting. 

The last rule of KDP is that it must be Amazon exclusive…that’s the kicker for me. I’m not sure if I want to do that. I mean, I love Amazon but I’m aware that a lot of people read on Nook or IPad and so breaking my ties with Barnes and Noble and GooglePlay would really limit my reader base…Then again, if nobody is reading it anywhere, what good is ANY of this? 

While I set here, writing book #2 and trying not to be so indecisive about things, feel free to comment with any advice on the matter. 😀 

2 thoughts on “#KDP Select…Is it Worth the Exclusivity?

  1. Personally, I think way too many authors look at KDP Select as the much needed “paramedic” to bring sales back to life, when in actuality, tweaking their marketing plan in other ways may be the better route. It doesn’t matter if you get 1,000 or 10,000 downloads–or what Amazon rank you achieve–most of them won’t be read. I believe wide distribution is best, but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

