#Divergent…When Will I Find the Time?

Standard

I like to try and stay on top of book trends. I don’t like being the “last” person to have read a novel or set of novels. I usually dedicate so much time to reading that there is no excuse for me to not have read the “latest” books. Now, that’s a little different because I’m writing full time. 

I have a general rule not to read while I’m writing. It’s an old habit I picked up from a Stephen King interview when I was very young. So, in my past, I was either reading or writing: neither both. 

I realize, today, that has to change. If I’m going to write daily; for the rest of my life, can I really cut reading out of my life? Umm…no! That would be like asking a fish not to swim. Reading is so ingrained within me that I can’t see me moving through the rest of my life not doing it. There are a few books that I’ve been aching to read but haven’t because I’m writing: Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep and The Divergent Series.

Well, today, I’m picking up Divergent and throwing away that old habit but I’m still left with the question; when will I find the time? Right now, I’m maintaining my Facebook, Twitter, Google +, Tumblr, Pinterest, WordPress and Blogger Blogs, paganspace.net, goodreads and shelfari for promotion. I’m writing one novel and planning out 5 more. I’m a mother of 4 (three under 4) and a hopelessly busy housewife.

So, I tell myself: “I’m going to read for 30 minutes a day”…”I’m not going to get immersed in the book”…”I’ll put it down and write”…Yeah, we’ll see…I  have a habit of becoming obsessed with really good books and I usually cant stop for long once I get started. So, if I go missing for a few days, you know where I am. I’m curled up on my couch, under a pile of unfolded laundry, ignoring all social media and hiding from my children to read.  

3 thoughts on “#Divergent…When Will I Find the Time?

  1. Hi, thanks for following my blog, and I thought this was an interesting post.

    I’ve often faced the same dilemma of whether reading helps or hinders my writing, and I’ve come to the conclusion that, like so many things in life, it’s a question of balance.

    Obviously if you’re spending hours and hours reading, it becomes hard to find time to write your own books and if an author’s story is very compelling, it can be a struggle to step out of their world and into your own. But at the same time, I find that mixing some reading in with my writing provides me with inspiration and reminds me why I wanted to write in the first place – to create something that people could enjoy. I sometimes find that if I take an evening off to read instead of write, I’ll often write twice as fast the next night, and my writing will be better.

    Anyway, good look with your writing and all the other demands on your time. Georgiana

    • Thank you. I’m glad for your response. I’m going to experiment with doing both for a while. I’m always afraid of the author that I’m reading influencing my tone or something like that. I think if I read something very different from what I’m writing, it will be a lot easier for me, until I get used to it.

      Thank you so much for reading and I hope your New Year is full of blessings. AC

Leave a Reply

