Wisdom, Creativity and Love…a #Druid’s Resolutions…

Standard

So, technically the new year (for me) begins at “summer’s end”. However, I made only 1 resolution at that time: to finish my novel. Now that the calendar year is coming to an end, we as a society look toward the new year in a collective sigh of resolutions. Usually, my resolutions revolve around serving other people…it is my natural tendency to put others before me. This year, I’m going to try something different. I’m going to resolve to be a better “me” in the name of and for the sake of everyone that I love. I’m going to do it in three simple words…well, maybe three simple words, each with its own very wordy descriptions (I am a writer, after all).

As a druid, I strive for three things above all else: wisdom, creativity and love.

Wisdom

Wisdom is an ever present theme in my life. My mind aches for wisdom and I find myself studying anything relevant (and sometimes irrelevant) to my wondering. However, I am coming to realize that knowledge and wisdom are two very different things. So, for the new year, I hope to gain the type of wisdom that cannot be gained from a book. I hope to gain the wisdom of the trees; the wisdom of the wind. It is the wisdom of silence and reflection. I had it at one point in my life but I traded it when my frustrations at the world around me took root in my heart. This year, I will do a better job at centering myself and calming my mind. I will find a place of quiet reflection within myself and allow myself time away from the pursuit of knowledge in exchange for the growth of wisdom.

Creativity

I already have a strong start on this one. With my first  novel published and 5 more in the works, I look forward to this year being my most creative year yet. In years previous, I have allowed the daily routine of life to douse my creativity. I buried it on a shelf beneath an endless list of to-dos and must-haves. I adorned the societal robes of “perfect wife” and “model mother” without abandon and forgot that I was a perfectly creative and talented mind (and humble, too 😉 ). All that’s different now because I have realized that I can’t be everything perfectly. With this realization, I have achieved balance and with balance, I can be both a mother and a author; a lover and a poet.

Love

Love is the easiest of the three. Love is as natural as the spring. I have never had a problem with love…I love all people and all things in this world, equally. I understand the boundaries of love and realize its presence even between two people with opposing views. I love freely. As awesome and great as that is, I can do better. I can not only love others but teach them to love as well. I never realized how difficult it was for some people…to show love…to feel love…even to receive love. So, throughout my wisdom and creativity, I strive to find a way to increase the world in love. To help bring the world back to the natural state from which it was born. Not one of indifference but one of love despite the difference.

I know its a bit early but it was on my mind tonight and so I thought I would set down my resolutions for the year, in the best manner that I know how. I wish all of you the best in the coming year and I would love to hear about your new year’s resolution…or, if you aren’t making any, I would love to hear why not?

One thought on “Wisdom, Creativity and Love…a #Druid’s Resolutions…

Leave a Reply

