How many projects do you work on at a time?

Standard

With Darkness Within released, I move forward to the next book in the series, Light Without. However, I feel like I have opened some sort of creative floodgate and ideas for new projects just keep flooding out of my brain. I have at least 5 books in my immediate thoughts and when I set down to write Light Without, these other projects jump in my face for attention.

So, I was wondering how many projects I should work on at a time. I know I can write one book while outlining another but could I write 2 books while outlining 3 more? I’m sure this is a personal preference but I thought it would be a good idea to get an idea from other indie authors on the matter. How many projects do you work on at a time?

4 thoughts on “How many projects do you work on at a time?

  1. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only writer doing this. When I work on the “main” project at hand there will be these moments when I get a rush of ideas and suddenly I have great ideas for events, themes, twist of events, etc. I used to have the problem of getting writer’s block with a current project because I got A GREAT idea for an existing project. So I’ll leave the other project(I don’t scrape it) and add to the other.

    To answer your question, I’ve done this a total of 10 times. Is that bad? Haha, I have 10 projects in the making. But to say I work on all of them at once would be a lie. The most I’ve worked on at once is three. But two is typical for me. Right now I’ve been preparing Hero’s Tale for publishing while still working on another novel. I guess when you’re really passionate about writing, the creativity doesn’t want to be jarred into one thing. It builds and builds, wanting to spread everywhere.

    • No, I don’t think 10 is bad…I couldn’t imagine actively writing more than 2 or 3, either but I think working on multiple projects (and allowing yourself to outline while you’re working on a project) is great to prevent writer’s block.

      Then, again, maybe we’re both ADD…lol…I love the quote: “I guess when you’re really passionate about writing, the creativity doesn’t want to be jarred into one thing. It builds and builds, wanting to spread everywhere.” I think this is very true. All the projects I’m working on are in different genres, too. Well, not ALL of them are completely different.

      The book I just published is YA Fantasy or Occult and so is the sequel to it (which I’m working on now). I’m mapping out an adult paranormal story, writing a middle grade fiction story, a new adult romance (about how intimacy changes after having children), a psychological thriller, and a futuristic fantasy novel… :0…Do you usually stick to one genre? If so, what is it?

  2. jannakaixer

    I’m currently working on five novels, two main ones that I work on everyday, two co-written ones and one that I’m still outlining. I find I have too many ideas and if I try and restrict myself to only writing one or two I’d probably get stuck and begin to really hate it.

Leave a Reply

