Writing my Soul

Standard

I did a lot of re-writing on my ending last night. At 2 am, I finished, closed Scrivener and my computer and nestled myself into my cozy bed. At 3 am, the youngest of my 3 year old twins woke up from a nightmare. We laid together and soothed each other to sleep…and I slept very well. 

When I woke up this morning, however, my body was aching and exhaustion had settled in my brain. What you need to understand, at this point, is that staying up late is part of my normal routine. Therefore, I know the exhaustion is not the product of a late night and early morning. 

It is not even a physical ache or exhaustion. It an emotional one, and the product of my writing process. Sometimes, we write things because we have an interesting story to tell. We open our brains and allow it to flow onto the pages of the novel. This is not the case with me, and Darkness Within

The story I’m writing (and about to publish), doesn’t come from my brain. Of course, the logical processes of planning and editing occur in the brain but the story itself, comes from the soul. I know it sounds improbable that storytelling occur outside the logical processes of the brain. Especially if one doesn’t accept the soul to be an organic part of the human. 

Obviously, I do and so the characters I have created awaken and walk around within me. They whisper to me, telling me how they want their stories to unfold. They tell me their secrets and I become the guardian of them. They become much more than a notion in my brain. They are part of me and putting their stories on paper is like peeling back my own layers and placing my own spirit between the front and back matter. 

This is why writing this particular novel, for me, is extremely physical. I write with everything I am, rather than just my brain. When I really get to the crux of the story and begin poking at my character’s most closely guarded secrets, my body will begin to ache and my mind will grow tired. The problem is that Awen Murdock, my main character, has a lot of closely guarded secrets.

I have enjoyed unraveling her through this first book and laying her secrets out for my readers, one by one. I have enjoyed giving her a back story and moving her through the dark half of the year of her destiny. Right now, my story seems very complete to me and I’m shooting for publishing on January 1, 2013. I chose this date for a few reasons, the most notably being my own superstitions.

As I begin to work on the second book in the series, Light Without, I find myself excited at the prospects before me. While the first book has been character driven, the second promises to be action driven. The characters are developed and the path is set. Now, all I need to do is walk it with them. 

5 thoughts on “Writing my Soul

  1. I really enjoyed reading this. I can relate to this in many ways. The story I’m going to publish in February is called Hero’s Tale. In the story I see myself in both the female and make role lead. In a way the male lead is “me” like the true me without fear and pressure that society can bring. I’m really glad someone can relate to me. Follow me please and I’m going to follow you and keep up with your journey. We could exchange ideas and share our work. You can check out a few of my stories on my page under the “stories and stuff” tab. 🙂 keep writing?

    • It’s always great to meet people who you can identify with. It’s even more special when that person is embarking upon the same journey that you are on. I will definitely check out your stories and look forward to a relationship of mutual support. I would love to read more about your novel.

      • Will do 🙂 I’ve come up with a few blurbs for it. But I’m waiting to post them until I have cover designs. I may do it early, just depends but I update the blog daily so far

      • I understand. My husband is a graphic artist and so I bribed him to do my cover design. Writing a synopsis for my book was a different story. It’s funny how easy it is to write the novel, compared to writing a summary of it for the back of the book or for promotion.

Leave a Reply

