I Think I’m Writing a Literary Fiction!!! :0

Standard

The general rundown of my novel is this:

Divine being in a human shell meets girl. He is supposed to lead her toward death but falls in love with her instead. He attempts to save her and when he fails, he is sent into a murderous rage. He denounces his purpose of maintaining balance in the world and kills humans who are not destined to die yet. This plunges the world into the Dark Ages.

He is sentenced to live eternity in the Shadow Realm but as darkness crashes around him, he finds strength in the memory of his love’s light. He becomes the protector of innocent wanderers in the land of condemnation and so he is offered redemption.

He must protect the physical incarnation of light on earth. He must guide her toward her fate. The world is on the edge of dark destruction and only her sacrifice can save the world. Darkness crashes around  her and the diviner’s job is complicated.

The story features human relationships, friendships, college applications and social networking. It also features shadow hunting, whispers of the divine in the wind and magical powers. There is dichotomy as darkness and light crash the shores of my characters and the world around them…

There are moments when the abstract theme of darkness vs. light play heavily in my novel and I think I’m writing a Literary Fiction.

There are moments when my characters get caught up in spiritual/social commentary and I think I’m writing a Literary Fiction.

I am 13 chapters in and I’ve spent the majority of my novel on character development and so I think I’m writing a Literary Fiction.

HOWEVER…

My novel contains elements from the fantasy, spiritual and young adult genres as well.

My characters describe in metaphor but converse in a language which is easy and flowing.

I have included a few scenes of action already and there is much more to come.

I hope what I’m writing is somewhere in the middle between general and literary fiction but if it leans more heavily toward LitFit, I’m fine with it. This is the type of book I have always wanted to write. I am penning beautiful, flowing passages that I fall in love with as I write them and my characters are dimensional and complicated. This is the first piece of my writing that will be released into the world and I can honestly say that, in whole, I’m proud of it.

Of course, as I write this, I realize that I might be sealing my doom, financially. When it comes down to it, I would rather write a beautiful story which touches the lives of the ones who read it rather than something with market value, anyway. Perhaps I will find a good blend and create something that is both beautiful and appealing…here’s to hoping I’m a good enough writer to pull it off!

Let me know what you think about “Darkness Within”. The first few chapters are posted on wattpad: http://www.wattpad.com/story/9531077-darkness-within

The full 13+ chapters that I have completed so far will be up soon on LeanPub: https://leanpub.com/darknesswithin

Leave a Reply

